Barguna district
(বরগুনা জেলা)

Barguna (বরগুনা) is a district of Bangladesh. It is located in South-western(দক্ষিণ-পশ্চিমে) Bangladesh. Barguna is a district of greater Barisal. It is a part of the Barisal Division. It is near the Jhalokati, Barisal district, Pirojpur, Patuakhali and Bagerhat district. Barguna district consists of 5 Upazilas, 4 Municipalities (Pourashava), 42 Union Parishads and 560 Villages.

List of upazilas in Barguna district
বরগুনা জেলার উপজেলা সমূহঃ

Some useful information of Barguna District:
District: Barguna
Barguna district Established in: 28th February, 1984
Division: Barisal division
Area : 1939.39 Sq. Km.
Total Cultivable Land : 1,99,831 Hectors
Population (2001) : 10,49,537
Density: 463 per Sq. Km.
Number of voters(2008): 5,45,545 (Approximately)
Number of Village: 560
Number of Union Parishad: 42 (Union Parishad details of Barguna district: )
Literacy rate: 58.12%

Textile Engineering College:
Police Training Center:
Colleges: 24 (Govt. College: 2, Non-govt. college: 22)
High Schools: 150 (Govt. 2, Non-govt. college: 148)
Primary Schools: 732 (Government Primary Schools: 379, Non-government Primary Schools: 353)
Madrasha: 339 (Senior Madrasha: , Dakhil and Alim Madrasha: ).
Technical School & college: 1
Textile Vocational Institute: 1
PTI: 1
Bank (Total Branch) :
Municipality(Pourashava) in Barguna District: 4 : Barguna Municipality(Pourashava), Betagi Municipality(Pourashava), Amtali Municipality(Pourashava), Patharghata Municipality(Pourashava)
Govt. Web Portal: Barguna District
Upazila Health Complex:
Modern Hospital: 1
Upazila Health Complex: 5
Main crops: Paddy (Rice), varieties of pulse like lentils etc.
Main fruits: Mango, Banana, Jackfruit, Papaya, Guava etc.
Cinema Hall :
Government Child Hospital :
Hat / Bazar : 115
Post Office :
Non-government Organization (NGO) :
Mosque (Mosjid) : 2168
Temple (Mandir) : 297
Cyclone Center :
Ideal Village:
Tourist Place: Fatrar Char, Ashar Char, Horinghata Forest, Laldiar Char, Sea beach, Rakhain Polli, Taltali, Bibichini Shahi Mosque, Sonakata Forest, Chonbunia, Majherchar.
Numbers of constituency: 2 (Advocate Dhirendra Chandra Debnath Shambhu, Honorable Member of Parliament(MP), Barguna-1, Constituency 109, (Barguna Sadar and Amtali Upazila); Alhaj Golam Sobur Tulu, Honorable Member of Parliament(MP), Barguna-2, Constituency 110, (Bamna, Patharghata & Betagi Upazila)
Number of Upazila (Thana) : 5 (Barguna Sadar Upazila, Betagi Upazila, Bamna Upazila, Patharghata Upazila, Amtali Upazila, Taltali Upazila)
Postal code : (Barguna Sadar post code: 8700, Nali Bandar post code: 8701, Amtali post code: 8710, Patharghata post code: 8720, Kakchira post code: 8721, Bamna post code: 8730, Betagi post code: 8740, Darul Ulam post code: 8741

Earn Money Online

Villages of Bangladesh

Union Parishad

Municipality in Bangladesh

City Corporation , University

Ministers in Bangladesh , Abbreviation Bangladesh , General Knowledge , Bank in Bangladesh

Travel, Story, Yellow Pages, Festival, Distance

Blog , Forum , Member , Images
H.S. Code

Government Organizations of Bangladesh

Warrant of Precedence of Bangladesh

Presidents of Bangladesh , Christmas day , Festival , New Year

Political Parties of Bangladesh

Ministers in Bangladesh , Abbreviation Bangladesh


Bangladesh , India , Pakistan , Sri Lanka , Maldives , United States , China , United Kingdom, Oman, Australia, Netherlands, Oman, Malaysia

Bangladesh Districts

Flag Counter
Contact Us