Dhaka District
ঢাকা জেলা

Dhaka is the capital of Bangladesh. Dhaka District is a located in central Bangladesh (formerly known as Dacca). It is the 8th largest city and 6th most densely populated city in the world. Dhaka is one of the major city of South Asia. Dhaka city is bounded by the Buriganga River, Dhaleshwari River, Shitalakshya River and Turag River. Dhaka District shares borders with Narayanganj on the EAST side, Manikganj on the WEST side, Gazipur and Tangail on the NORTH side, Munshiganj and Rajbari on the SOUTH side. Dhaka Metropolitan area consists of 24 thanas (Police station.. short name: PS) under Dhaka City Corporation Area. Dhaka district consists of 5 Upazilas, 2 City Corporation, 3 Municipality (Pourashava), 79 Union Parishads and 1863 Villages . Thana and a upazila are listed below:

List of upazilas in Dhaka district
ঢাকা জেলার উপজেলা সমূহ :

List of Thanas in Dhaka City Corporation
ঢাকা সিটি করপোরেশনের থানা সমূহ :

Some useful information of Dhaka District:
District: Dhaka
Dhaka district Established in: 1772
Division: Dhaka division
Area : 1683.27 Sq. Km.
Population (2001) : 86,18,700 (Male: 47,95,300 , Female: 38,23,400)
City Corporation: 2 (Dhaka South City Corporation, Dhaka North City Corporation)
List of Municipality(Pourashava) in Dhaka District: 3
Union Parishads: 79
Villages: 1863
Literacy rate: 64.26%
National Parliament of Bangladesh: Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban

University: Dhaka University, BUET, Jagannath University, Independent University of Bangladesh etc.
Textile Engineering College in Dhaka: Shyamoli Textile Engineering College, Bangladesh Textile Engineering College (BTEC), Bangladesh University of Textiles, City Textile Engineering Institute, BGMEA University of Fashion & Technology (BUFT), National Institute of Textile Engineering & Research - NITER, Rajdhani Polytechnic & Textile College, Uttara Engineering College, Shahid S A Memorial Fashion Design And Textile College, National Institute of Fashion Technology, Department of Textile Engineering Uttara University.
Police Training Center:
College: 167 (Notre Dame College, Ideal School & College, Viqarunnisa Noon School & College, Dhaka College, Tejgaon College, National Ideal School, Dhaka City College, Rajuk Uttara Model College, Dhaka Commerce College, BAF Shaheen College, Adamjee Cantonment College, Cambrian School & College, Abujor Gifari University College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Holy Cross College, Eden Girls' College, Milestone College, Govt. Bangla College, Dhaka Imperial College, Lalmatia Mohila College, Begum Badrunnesa Govt. Girls' College, Habibullah Bahar College, Dhaka Residential Model College, Govt. Titumir College, Dhaka Biggan College, Dhaka Commerce College, Quality Education College)
High Schools: 479 (Ideal School & College, Motijheel, Dhaka, Viqarunnisa Noon School & College, Monipur High School, National Ideal School & College, Viqarunnisa Noon School)
Government Primary Schools: 728
Non-government Primary Schools: 689
Mosjid : 3088 (National Mosque of Bangladesh, Location: Paltan, Dhaka-1000: Baitul Mukarram National Mosque
Mandir : 808
Madrasha: 165 (Senior Madrasha: , Dakhil and Alim Madrasha: ).
Technical Institutions: (Youth Training Center: , PTI: , Technical School and College: )
Government Web Portal: Dhaka District
Upazila Health Complex:
General Hospital:
Medical Training Center:
Hat / Bazar :
Cyclone Center :
Numbers of constituency: 20 (Dhaka-1, Dhaka-2, Dhaka-3, Dhaka-4, Dhaka-5, Dhaka-6, Dhaka-7, Dhaka-8, Dhaka-9, Dhaka-10, Dhaka-10, Dhaka-12, Dhaka-13, Dhaka-14, Dhaka-15, Dhaka-16, Dhaka-17, Dhaka-18, Dhaka-19, Dhaka-20)
Upazila : 5 (Dohar Upazila, Keraniganj Upazila, Dhamrai Upazila, Nawabganj Upazila, Savar Upazila)
Postal code : 1000 (Dhaka G.P.O. post code: 1000, Dhaka Sadar HO post code: 1100, Wari TSO post code: 1203, Gendaria TSO post code: 1204,
New Market TSO post code: 1205, Dhaka Cantonment TSO post code: 1206, Mohammadpur Housing post code: 1207,
Dhaka Politechnic post code: 1208, Jigatala TSO post code: 1209, Posta TSO post code: 1211, Gulshan Model Town post code: 1212, Banani TSO post code: 1213, Tejgaon TSO post code: 1215, Shantinagr TSO post code: 1217, Mirpur TSO post code: 1218, Khilgaon TSO post code: 1219,
Bangabhaban TSO post code: 1222, Dilkusha TSO post code: 1223, Sangsad Bhaban TSO post code: 1225, Khilkhet TSO post code: 1229, Uttara Model Twon TSO post code: 1231, Dhania TSO post code: 1232, Keraniganj post code: 1310, Dhaka Jute Mills post code: 1311)

Distance from Dhaka to Chattogram, Bangladesh:

Dhaka is around 260 kilometers from Chattogram, the commercial capital city of Bangladesh.

Best places to visit in Dhaka:

Ahsan Manzil
Bangabandhu Military Museum
Bangladesh National Museum
Taka Museum

Earn Money Online

Villages of Bangladesh

Union Parishad

Municipality in Bangladesh

City Corporation , University

Ministers in Bangladesh , Abbreviation Bangladesh , General Knowledge , Bank in Bangladesh

Travel, Story, Yellow Pages, Festival, Distance

Blog , Forum , Member , Images
H.S. Code

Government Organizations of Bangladesh

Warrant of Precedence of Bangladesh

Presidents of Bangladesh , Christmas day , Festival , New Year

Political Parties of Bangladesh

Ministers in Bangladesh , Abbreviation Bangladesh


Bangladesh , India , Pakistan , Sri Lanka , Maldives , United States , China , United Kingdom, Oman, Australia, Netherlands, Oman, Malaysia

Bangladesh Districts

Flag Counter

Last updated on June 20, 2022.